Hapur Incident: Allahabad High Court Holds Special Sitting On Saturday, Forms Judicial Committee For Lawyers’ Grievance Redressal


In a special sitting of Allahabad High Court on Saturday, a judicial committee has been constituted to address the grievances of the lawyers regarding the Hapur Incident.

The committee comprises sitting judges of the Allahabad High Court, Justice Manoj Kumar Gupta (as the Chair), Justice Rajan Roy and Justice Mohd. Faiz Alam Khan. It further includes Advocate General of Uttar Pradesh or his nominee, Chairman, Bar Council of Uttar Pradesh and President, High Court Bar Association.

An application was filed by the Bar Council of Uttar Pradesh and it members in the Suo Moto cognizance taken by the Allahabad High Court regarding the Hapur Incident. It was pleaded that a committee be constituted by the Court in terms of the Supreme Court decision in District Bar Association Deharadun v. Ishwar Sandilya and others to enable the lawyers to bring forth their grievances.

Further, it has been requested that the Court may call for the status report of the investigation conducted so far in the First Information Report lodged against the erring police officials who were involved in the alleged beating of the advocates returning to the civil court after peaceful demonstration.

On mention for urgent hearing, bench comprising Chief Justice Pritinker Diwaker and Justice Mahesh Chandra Tripathi, sitting in-camber on Saturday, constituted the committee as above, and directed the Special Investigation Team (SIT), already constituted by the State Government to look into the incident. It was directed that the Court be informed about the actions taken on the first information reports lodged by the Lawyers in respect of the incident.

The matter is directed to be listed on 15th September, on which date the SIT has been directed to submit an interim report before the Court.

Counsel for Applicants: Anoop Trivedi, Senior Advocate along with Shiv Kishor Gaur, Chairman, Jay Narayan Pandey, Member Secretary, Madhu Sudan Tripathi, Abhinav Gaur and Vibhu Rai.

Related articles


Recent articles